Welcome to the PhilSoc website

Detailed content is available by clicking on the links in the tabs above. Current PhilSoc announcements are listed below.

Articles in the forthcoming issue of the Transactions:

Peter Matthews, ‘Anna Morpurgo Davies 1937–2014’; Michiel de Vaan, ‘Reduplicated demonstratives in ancient Indo-European languages’; James Clackson, ‘Subgrouping in the Sabellian branch of Indo-European’; Kristian Andersen Rusten, ‘A quantitative study of empty referential subjects in Old English prose and poetry’; Carlos García Castillero, ‘The type tánicc in the Old Irish glosses: Affix ordering, frequency and phonotactics’; Sam James Peter Wolfe, ‘The Old Sardinian Condaghes: a syntactic study’.

9 December 2014 The Anna Morpurgo Davies Masters Bursary

The Council of PhilSoc has decided to establish the Anna Morpurgo Davies Masters Bursary which would be given normally to someone working on Ancient Languages (including non-Indo-European ones, following Anna’s own suggestion). In order to secure the future of the Fund it is hoped that a substantial endowment can be established. It was suggested that members of PhilSoc, colleagues and former students, might like to make a personal contribution towards this fund. If so, members should send donations to the Treasurer (Dr Stephen Colvin, Dept. of Greek and Latin, University College London, London WC1E 6BT); if tax payers wish to gift-aid their donation, a Gift Aid form is available here. Council would also be grateful if you would bring this appeal to the attention of anyone else who might be interested in donating.

10 November 2014 9 January 2015 Next meeting of PhilSoc

The next meeting of PhilSoc will take place on Friday 9 January 2015 at SOAS. Professor Dirk Geeraerts (University of Leuven) will speak on 'Onomasiological variation and lexical lectometry'. The meeting will take place at 4.15 in Room 116 in the main SOAS building. Tea will be served from 3.45.

28 October 2014 Call for Papers: Conference on Case Attraction

A two-day conference on case attraction and related phenomena will take place on Friday 18th and Saturday 19th September 2015 at the University of Wrocław. This is a joint event of the Center for General and Comparative Linguistics at the University of Wrocław and the Philological Society, and is generously supported also by the Faculty of Lingusitics at the University of Oxford and the Programme for Indo-European Studies at UCLA. For further details, click here.

13 October 2014 7 November 2014 Next meeting of PhilSoc

The next meeting of PhilSoc will take place on Friday 7 November 2014 at the University of Manchester. Prof. Peter Schrijver (University of Utrecht), will speak on ‘The Affiliation of Sumerian’. Room 3.204 on the third floor of University Place on Oxford Road. University Place is number 37 on the campus map (here); it is the same building as the Visitors’ Centre. Tea will be served from 3.45.

5 October 2014 PhilSoc Bursaries awarded for 2014-15

PhilSoc Council is delighted to announce that the PhilSoc Masters Bursaries for the academic year 2014–15 have been awarded to Anahita Hoose (Oxford), Dávid Györfi (UCL, formerly Eötvös Loránd (Hungary)), Yinglun Sun (York), and Andres Faraone-Pirie (Cambridge, formerly SOAS). One of the awards was also supported by the Martin Burr Fund. Details of next year's competition will appear on the website in due course.

27 September 2014 Anna Morpurgo Davies

The Council of Phil Soc was very sorry to hear that Anna Morpurgo Davies died on Saturday 27 September 2014. A sad day for linguistics and philology and for her many friends.

12 September 2014 Next meeting of PhilSoc

The next meeting of PhilSoc will take place on Friday 10 October 2014 at SOAS. Dr Cécile de Cat (University of Leeds), will speak on ‘Towards an Interface Approach to Root Phenomena’ (please note the change from the previously advertised title). The meeting will take place at 4.15 in Rooms T101 and T102, 22 Russell Square (not in SOAS main building but right next to it). Tea will be served from 3.45.

12 September 2014 The Martin Burr Fund

The Council of PhilSoc is pleased to announce that it has established the Martin Burr Fund as a result of a generous bequest from the estate of Mr Martin Burr. It is intended that the Fund will be used generally to provide small grants to support activities by members of PhilSoc who do not have an academic affiliation and do not have access to other sources of funding. For example, it may be used to support a Masters bursary for a mature student, or a member of the Society attending a PhilSoc meeting which is of particular interest to them. The PhilSoc welcomes proposals from members which should be directed to the Secretary.

9 June 2014 PhilSoc announces new Treasurer and new members of Council

The PhilSoc AGM held on 7 June 2014 saw a number of changes in PhilSoc personnel.

Dr Philip Durkin stepped down as Treasurer and is replaced by Dr Stephen Colvin. Prof. Frans Plank has also stepped down as an editor of the Transactions. They are both warmly thanked for all they have done for the Society.

Seven Council members stood down, namely, Dr Stephen Colvin (to become Treasurer), Prof. Martin Durrell, Prof. Andrew Linn, Dr Mary MacRobert, Dr Sandra Paoli, Dr Philomen Probert, and Prof. Maggie Tallerman. The President thanked the retiring members on behalf of Council and the Society for their service, and welcomed their replacements, namely, Prof. Peter Austin, Prof. Martin Durrell (re-elected), Prof. Bjarke Frellesvig, Dr Martin Orwin, Dr Philomen Probert (re-elected), Prof. Paul Rowlett, and Dr George Walkden.

9 February 2014 The Eighth RH Robins Prize of the Philological Society

The Philological Society is delighted to launch the eighth R. H. Robins student Prize for an article on a linguistic topic that falls within the area of the Society's interests as defined by present and past publications in the Transactions of the Philological Society (TPhS). For details, please see the Robins Prize page.

20 January 2014 New Members of the Transactions' Editorial Board

PhilSoc is pleased to announce that Gerrit Dimmendaal (Cologne), Johanna Nichols (Berkeley), Malcolm Ross (ANU) and K. G. Vijayakrishnan (Hyderabad) have joined Transactions' Editorial Board. They replace Michela Cennamo, Joseph Salmons, Frans Plank and Olga Fischer who are standing down, and will join the nine existing members acting as ambassadors for Transactions in their parts of the world, and thus further enhance the international profile of the journal.