Welcome to the PhilSoc website

Detailed content is available by clicking on the links in the tabs above. Current PhilSoc announcements are listed below.

Articles in the forthcoming issue of the Transactions (113.2)

William Randall and Howard Jones, ‘On The Early Origins of the Germanic Preterite Presents’; Sam Wolfe, ‘The Old Sardinian Condaghes: A Syntactic Study’; Jochen Zeller, ‘On Parametric Variation in Bantu, with particular reference to Kinyarwanda’; Mostafa Lameen Souag, ‘The Development of Dative Agreement in Berber: Beyond Nominal Hierarchies’; Louise Esher, ‘Formal Asymmetries between the Romance Synthetic Future and Conditional in the Occitan Varieties of the Western Languedoc’.  

8 June 2015 PhilSoc announces new Members of Council

The PhilSoc AGM held on 6 June 2015 saw the election of four new members of Council.

Four Council members stood down, namely, Prof. Adam Ledgeway, Prof. Lutz Marten, Prof. Rosanna Sornicola, Dr Graham Trousdale. The President thanked the retiring members on behalf of Council and the Society for their service, and welcomed their replacements, namely, Prof. Bas Aarts, Prof. David Denison, Dr Melanie Green, and Prof. Janet Watson.

8 June 2015 Honorary Members of PhilSoc

The Council of PhilSoc is pleased to announce that it has elected three Honorary Members to reflect their distinction and contribution to the field: Prof. Michael Halliday, Prof. Paul Kiparsky, Prof. Elizabeth Traugott.

8 June 2015 Eighth Robins Prize winner

At the PhilSoc AGM on Saturday 6 June 2015 the winner and runners-up of the Eighth Robins Prize 2014–15 were announced. The winner was Charlotte Hemmings (SOAS) with an essay on ‘Kelabit voice: Philippine-type, Indonesian-type or something a bit different?’ The two runners-up were Silva Nurmio (Cambridge), ‘Collective nouns in Welsh: a noun category or a plural allomorph?’ and Helen Sims-Williams (Oxford), ‘Analogical levelling and optimisation: the treatment of pointless lexical allomorphy in Greek’.

8 June 2015 PhilSoc Membership Fees

At the PhilSoc AGM on Saturday 6 June 2015 it was agreed that the annual fee for membership would be raised to £20 for ordinary members and to £20 for five years for student associates with effect from 1 January 2016. This is being done to reflect the rising cost of meetings and to ensure that we can continue to fulfill our aim of helping students with bursaries and other financial support. The President will be writing to all members giving the background to this decision. Full information will be circulated with the programme card in the summer. The Subscriptions page has now been changed to reflect this.

18 May 2015 Next meeting of PhilSoc and AGM

The AGM of PhilSoc will be held in Jesus College, Cambridge on Saturday 6 June at 4.15 (tea from 3.45) followed by a paper by Prof. Elan Dresher (University of Toronto) on 'Contrastive feature hierarchies in diachronic phonology'. All welcome.

7 April 2015 Withdrawal of small-entry language qualifications

The President of PhilSoc, on behalf of the Society, is a signatory of a letter to the Secretary of State for Education expressing our grave concern regarding the recent announcement by public examination boards (OCR and AQA) that they intend to withdraw GCSE and A-level qualifications for small-entry languages. A copy of the letter can be found here.

3 April 2015 Open Access

We are now accepting Open Access article submission for Transactions of the Philological Society. OnlineOpen is available to Transactions of the Philological Society authors who wish to make their article open access, free to read, download and share via Wiley Online Library and PubMed Central. In addition, authors of OnlineOpen articles are permitted to post the final, published PDF of their article on a website, institutional repository or other free public server, immediately on publication. Learn more here.

20 February 2015 Anna Morpurgo Davies 1937-2014

PhilSoc has gathered a selection of obituaries together with a link to Anna's own account of her career in Brown & Law, Linguistics in Britain here. As announced in December 2014, the Council of PhilSoc has decided to establish the Anna Morpurgo Davies Masters Bursary which would be given normally to someone working on Ancient Languages (including non-Indo-European ones, following Anna’s own suggestion); details on how to donate are also available here.

19 February 2015 Next meeting of PhilSoc

The next meeting of PhilSoc will take place on Saturday 7 March 2015 at Wolfson College, Oxford. Dr George Walkden (University of Manchester) will give a paper on ‘"Fashionably late" finite verbs in Old English'. The meeting will take place at 4.15. Tea will be served from 3.45.

18 January 2015 Masters Bursaries 2015

PhilSoc Council is delighted to announce that this year's competition for Masters Bursaries is now open. It is intended to support individuals wishing to undertake study in linguistics/philology at Masters level in the academic year 2015-2016.  As one of the bursaries, the Council of PhilSoc has decided to establish the Anna Morpurgo Davies Masters Bursary which would be given normally to someone working on Ancient Languages (including non-Indo-European ones). Bursaries of £4000 are available. Links to the application form, which contains details of terms and conditions, the application process and deadlines, are available on the Funding page of this website.

15 January 2015 Next meeting of PhilSoc

The next meeting of PhilSoc will take place on Friday 13 February 2015 at SOAS. Ranjan Sen (University of Sheffield) will give a paper on  'Reconstructing phonological change in Latin: Evaluating synchronic motivations'. The meeting will take place at 4.15 in Room 4426 in the main SOAS building. Tea will be served from 3.45.